Cana Modz by Cloupor (Hana Clone)

I picked up this mod on a pre-order from Elev8vape.com. Originally I ordered it in Silver, but after discovering that I could change my color to Black and get the mod sooner, I switched colors. I will probably purchase the Silver one later, once the bugs are all worked out (yes, there are a couple of small bugs with mine, see below). Despite early concerns and bugs, if you are looking for a 30 watt capable mod, I can personally recommend the Cana Modz clone!

Pros:

This thing vapes like a champ. I have put it head to head with my ZNA from House of Hybrids (HoH), and it holds up very well. The cloned DNA30 chip does not function exactly like the Evolv DNA30-D, but it is VERY close. When the Cana Modz goes to sleep, it needs 2 button presses before you can vape with it, 1 to wake it up, then 1 to fire it. This takes a little getting used to, but once you do, it works really well. Other than this, all button features work exactly like my ZNA, and has all the features of the Evolv DNA30-D chip.

This is a 1:1 clone of the Hana 30 watt mod, and while I have never owned a Hana, I understand that this is cleaner and does not suffer the issues that the Hana does. Many people complain that the $240 Hana is not well quality controlled and can suffer from crooked 510 connectors and displays. The display and the 510 connector on my mod are perfectly straight and seem very well built.

The buttons are firm and hard to accidentally push, unlike my ZNA. With the ZNA I have to be careful because the buttons can “auto-adjust” my wattage up/down when I forget to lock it and then put it in my pocket. The Cana buttons are both recessed and stiff enough to resist accidental changes by other objects in my pockets.

On board USB port for charging and pass through functions. While I have heard people say that you should not use this in pass through mode, it is not written anywhere in the instructions. I have not had any problems with the USB port, it charges well, and works well for pass through vaping, my ZNA can’t even do that!

Cons:

Periodically self adjusts downwards by .1 watts, even when the settings are “locked”. For example, if I set it for 14.8 watts, then lock the settings, it will eventually (at some random interval) adjust itself to 14.7. The most I have seen it self adjust over the course of about 5 days is .3 watts, then it held steady.

Sleep mode is not consistent. Sometimes it will go to sleep while I am actually vaping on it, in between hits. Other times, I can set it down for the night, pick it back up in the morning and it is not “asleep”. The requirement for 2 “fire button” presses to vape, after it goes to sleep, can get annoying, but hopefully a firmware fix can address that.

The buttons are small and firm to depress. While this is a good thing for the up/down buttons, it is not such a good thing for the firing button. The real problem is that when vaping for extended periods, the small firing button digs into my finger and it becomes quite uncomfortable (this is a subjective point). Not all people will find this to be problematic like I do.

Overall:

I highly recommend this mod! This is an excellent value for the money. There are a few inconsistencies with it, but the price point and features make it well worth putting up with the minor concerns. The simple fact is that I can own 3 of these for the price of 1 Hana, that makes quite a substantial savings in the long run that can be spent on more mods, juice, or other supplies.

UPDATE:

I had a big problem with this mod shortly after writing the review above. My mod (which had been working perfectly) started smoking from the USB port. Of note, I was NOT using it in pass through mode (I only do that when I forget to charge my batteries).

I immediately contacted Elev8vape AND Cloupor directly about this issue. Elev8vape asked me to send it back to them and they would replace it with a new unit. Surprisingly, I also heard back from Cloupor, stating that they would make sure it was taken care of. I responded back to Cloupor with my other concerns, and they were very responsive to my observations. Fanny with Cloupor did tell me that the self adjusting .1 watt issue was a result of “noise” or “interference”, and would be fixed in a future version with a noise filter. She also told me that some of my other concerns had already been fixed in a firmware update (2 button press issue specifically). The other fix was to add epoxy to the unit to keep the chip from loosening up and shorting out (which is what happened to mine).

Fanny and I have exchanged email several times over the last few weeks, and I am very impressed with the responsiveness of the Cloupor staff.

 

 

About devauto

I am trying to switch to e-cigs to quit smoking, and in the process I thought it would be good to document my various product trials so that others can learn from my journey into this new world of smokeless nicotine.
This entry was posted in E-CIGS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

